RAY BRADBURY – A Sci Fi Goodbye

To the consternation of many, it was announced this week that Ray Bradbury – one of the finest science fiction writers of our time – finally shuffled off this mortal coil.

I can’t claim to have read all his works, but still he has been an inspiration and touched my life.  When I was young, I remember watching The Martian Chronicles on TV – something about it was truly captivating to my child’s mind.

Then, some years later, I chanced upon the audio version, read by the author himself.  As well as being equally captivated by the narrated story, there was something in Ray’s voice that spoke to me beyond the meaning of the words.  Since then, I’ve come across videos with him in.  It’s obvious just how much joy he has gotten from writing (and from life) over the years – and I realised that this ‘heart energy’ as I would call it, is what came through as I listened to him reading The Martian Chronicles all those years ago.

At some point, I plan to add an Inspirations page to my Foley’s Forum website, which will include a short video of Ray Bradbury.  In the meantime, here’s the link for the video I presently plan to use.  I just love how the guy cuts to the chase when it comes to doing what you love!  (Sorry, video quality isn’t good.)

I welcome you to join me and a whole bunch of other people on the planet in appreciation of what Ray Bradbury – who was born in 1920 – has wholeheartedly shared with the world.

More links in case you fancy reading further:

Article: [Ray Bradbury] Popularized science fiction, but saw Internet as scam

Article: Fahrenheit 451 becomes e-book despite author’s feelings

PS If anyone owning the copyright to the above photo of Ray Bradbury objects to its use here, please let me know & I’ll be pleased to remove it from my blog.

About Alannah Foley

Alannah Foley... aka 'The Pyjama Writer' Author of Light Mysteries, Campervan Capers, Cycling Widows, and more... To find out more go to www.thepyjamawriter.com
This entry was posted in Misc, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to leave a comment on the blog below...

